Author Topic: My ideas for fundraising as follows  (Read 2373 times)

Offline Bb

My ideas for fundraising as follows
« on: April 15, 2011, 04:33:29 AM »
I vote for fundraiser dinners. I could possibly do some in the States with the angle of Freedom of Speech and whistle blower protection themes. I also like the idea of prerecorded speech from Assange or another member that would open up discourse about the event amongst attendees.

Being a soon to be journalism grad AND a chef, I could pull it off with the  price of admission being a  donation towards Wikileaks. Not a totally original idea, but a tried and true method. Message me if there is a legitimate interest.

Plus maybe wikileaks merch could be sold at these events?

I'm also a musician and there would be bands that could get behind this cause to play as part of a separate or all inclusive charity event towards Wikileaks . The event would continue stressing the idea of free speech, government transparency, and the need to protect whistle blowers given my country, USA's , terrible stunts that remind myself and the older members of my family of Mcarthy-ism and communist witch hunts.

All preaching aside: I have the skills , with a few other chefs , to pull off the dinner. I have the journalism experience to get the word out in my area. I also have the networking and ability as a musician, playing in a band now, to organize said event with bands.
I want to do something meaningful towards this cause. I'm not a flaky zealot just sincere.

Offline Bb

Re: My ideas for fundraising as follows
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2011, 03:12:40 AM »
Okay I have another idea and from the looks of it, I've got about 32 hits which isn't shite but:
Has anyone looked at Al Jazeera's "Stream" newscast? Three guys with chats via skype from people all over the globe on current topics with newsworthy information and discourse.